Weird reactions to meds

So I downloaded this app for my iPhone today called My Mood Tracker.  Randomly throughout the day I can tell it how I feel and it make me a pretty chart.  I can add when I take meds to it, which it adds to the chart, so I can see what med causes what moods.  Pretty niffty.  Cost $5, which I think it a little much, but I started thinking about all the work it was gonna take to turn this blog into something that could be used at a doctor’s appointment and suddenly the $5 seemed cheap.  As an added bonus it sends me push notifications that say “How are you feeling today?” to remind me to log moods.  Kinda like I wish my friends did.  I paid for a fake friend.

I tracked things today, and today guess what made me more hypomanic?  Xanex.  WTF??  I took Adderall in the morning, all was fine, but I felt like I wanted to prevent inevitable meltdown, took 1mg of Xanex at 11:00am, and at 11:45 I was LESS sleepy and MORE hypomanic.  Took .5mg more at 1:00 because I was getting worse and couldn’t think of a better plan and then I was perfect until 4:00pm.  I like this app.  It tells me how long I can expect my medicine to last.

Apparently 1mg Xanex=more hypomania 1.5mg=less.  No clue how that works, but okay.  Good to know.  It’ll be different tomorrow, I’m sure.

I did but stuff today (at that 4:00 I was talking about), but I’m classifying it as a “needed” expense because my “rest” aromatherapy was getting gooey and running low and honestly it’s been the only thing getting me to sleep these last few days.  If I run out, I’m gonna have to overkill the meds and I don’t wanna do that.  So expensive oils it is.  I found a “clear mind” one while I was there that’s supposed to do the opposite, so I’m gonna try to add that in the morning and see if I get good results.  I’ve been doing bedtime aromatherapy for years (usually only when I’m desperate, I always fall out of it when I don’t need it) and it never even occurred to me to try it in the morning, too.  I’m also keeping bottles in my purse from now on to try in conjunction with meds, either to offset side effects or get results quicker.  This was part of my brilliant “I need a meditation room” plan I had earlier today.  I doubt the meditation room is happening, now that I’m of clearer mind, but I do hope my oils help.  My bedtime one always has and I have a stress relief one I usually keep at work that has done wonders before with stress and mild headaches.  I just always doubt herbal ability on the more serious stuff.

Anyway, short post, because I’m exhausted (thank goodness at the right time of the day for once).  Hopefully my app will make my posts more organized too because a lot of times I get on here and half the day is a big blur.  So something to look forward to maybe.

About Kira

How do you say "I hate the about me section" without sounding cliche? I haven't found a way yet, so instead you'll now be subjected to random bits of info so you at least know what the blog is about. I'm a 26 year old wife and fairly new mom trying to make a life for myself and my family. These things should be run of the mill, but alas, I have Bipolar (amongst other diagnoses that I have long since lost track of). So here I am, trying to juggle a professional career, marriage, motherhood...and my own general crazy. All the rest of the "about me" sordid details will have to come in time, but the bottom line is that I need somewhere to vent that makes me feel like I'm being heard (even if no one ever reads this) and if along the way I can help another person or two then all the better. **Full Disclaimer** For the record, Kira is not my real name. Pretty much everyone I know is aware of all of my issues, but I do have a career and such and need to keep some level of privacy due to that. And, well, I'm paranoid. View all posts by Kira

Leave a Reply

