I promise to be less awful

Being alone (or at least without my husband and son) this week has me bored.  Bored me thinks too much.  So this morning I decided to work on something that’s been on my “things I’d like to do” list for a few years.

I’m a huge fan of Franklin Covey things.  I read 7 Habits back in high school and have used Franklin Covey planners since then up until I got my iPad which has now replaced my paper planners.  I make my fancy lists and prioritize them and try to get important things accomplished.  I do this because generally my energy level doesn’t last long so I have to get as much accomplished as I can before my brain calls it a day.  My ADD works against me too because without a list I lose focus and spend the day getting nothing accomplished other than being distracted.

I have a tendency to over plan because it gives me a sense of control.  My husband says I’m a control freak, but if I can’t control my head I’m gonna be able to control something.  It’s a habit I need to break.

Anyway, the Franklin Covey system is based around “mission statements.”  It’s one of the things in the system I never got around to doing because it required too much reflection.  Plus it makes me think about “here’s the person I want to be” and I don’t always have the ability to control that so I tend to just not think about it.  Just be has been my motto…like the Calvin Klein ads of the 90’s or something.

When I was playing online this morning I found the Franklin Covey website had a “mission statement” builder tool.  I decided what the hell and did it.  It’s really a work in progress.  It asks you questions and builds a long thing about what you want to accomplish and how you want to live and such.  My goal is to take all that and turn it into a few phrases (for work and home) that I can go back to when I’m acting like a bitch or having a bad day.  Something that can be a mantra to live by.

Maybe it will help.  Maybe it will just piss me off to think about it on a bad day.  Regardless, I figured I’d post what I came up with (edited a bit because I didn’t know how it was going to spit things out so I was writing full sentences).  And yes I’m calling it Kira LLC.  Because companies have mission statements, not people.

Kira’s Rough Draft Mission Statement

AKA Kira LLC

I am at my best when I am at my best when I am internally motivated and happy to be where I am.

I am at my best when I don’t let external factors dictate my emotions.

I will try to prevent times when I am at my worst when I am stressed and annoyed by things I cannot control.

I will enjoy my work by finding employment where I can help people when I’m at work and be successful simply by doing the right things by my clients.  (I do have this already)

I will find enjoyment in my personal life through spending more time with my son and husband. I will enjoy the moments when they make me laugh or smile as they come and not be thinking about what else I need to do.  I will be in the moment just as my husband and son are and not worry so much about other things.  I will learn to truly enjoy them and not focus on the bad days.

I will find opportunities to use my natural talents and gifts such as my ability to listen and understand others as well as to learn new things quickly.

I can do anything I set my mind to. I will continue to work hard and my job and prove that I am the best at it.

My life’s journey is about helping others and being a great mother and wife.

My journey is learning from my mistakes and being the best I can be every day.

I will be a person who has my family around me. I’d like them to say that I was the best mom and wife that I could have been considering my limited abilities some days. I’d like them to say that they are proud of what I’ve accomplished at work and in my personal life. I’d like them to say that no matter what mood I was in they knew they were loved.

My most important future contribution to others will be love, understanding, and caring. My success at work contributes the ability to create a good life for the people that are important to me.
I will stop procrastinating and start working on:

  • My grumpiness with my family (husband, son, and mother)
  • Telling and showing those I love that I appreciate them especially when my actions say otherwise.

I will strive to incorporate the following attributes into my life:

  • patience
  • letting things go
  • not letting external factors influence productivity

I will constantly renew myself by focusing on the four dimensions of my life:

  • Get the right amount of sleep and spending more time outside.
  • Being more zen and in the moment.
  • Working harder to overcome the mental challenges I face.
  • Being a less tiring friend.
About Kira

How do you say "I hate the about me section" without sounding cliche? I haven't found a way yet, so instead you'll now be subjected to random bits of info so you at least know what the blog is about. I'm a 26 year old wife and fairly new mom trying to make a life for myself and my family. These things should be run of the mill, but alas, I have Bipolar (amongst other diagnoses that I have long since lost track of). So here I am, trying to juggle a professional career, marriage, motherhood...and my own general crazy. All the rest of the "about me" sordid details will have to come in time, but the bottom line is that I need somewhere to vent that makes me feel like I'm being heard (even if no one ever reads this) and if along the way I can help another person or two then all the better. **Full Disclaimer** For the record, Kira is not my real name. Pretty much everyone I know is aware of all of my issues, but I do have a career and such and need to keep some level of privacy due to that. And, well, I'm paranoid. View all posts by Kira

2 responses to “I promise to be less awful

  • fishrobber69

    Memo to Kira, President and CEO of Kira LLC …
    Don’t forget to give yourself a little slack and understanding on the crazy-shit days where nothing works out right. I have too many days like that, and I usually beat myself up about it for days, weeks, or decades. It’s better for me when I can find a little compassion for myself.
    Also, the employees are threatening to strike.

    Sincerely, Rob
    Assistant (to the) Regional Manager

    • Kira

      I’m bad about that. It’s something I need to work on. I’m usually really hard on myself.

      If the employees strike I’m moving to one of the states that won’t let them anymore. lol

Leave a Reply

